NTL 300k Broadband. Questions before installing

Wrighty 23:40 14 Oct 04

Hi there,

Getting NTL Broadband fitted next weekend and I just have a couple of questions to see if anyone can help me.
Would it be better to take my dial up connection/software off PC before installing Broadband software.?

Can you keep your Email address I am using now?
I have a Surgemaster power socket with telephone line protection can I still protect my phoneline with the new Broadband.?

I have read some of the previous threads about Broadband this is why I am asking if people have had any problems what I have mentions. Any info would be grately appreciated.

Running XP Home with SP2 just installed. No probelms with that at all.

Cheers

Wrighty

johnnyrocker 23:47 14 Oct 04

knowing ntl it would (imho) be a wise ideato keep it although i do believe ntl provide a dial up facility in the event of one of their often outages, e mail would be a matter for discussion between you and your current isp (if ntl no prob)

johnny.

Wrighty 23:57 14 Oct 04

Hi there,
I am using NTL Dial up at prescent which is why i said could I keep original dial up Email.

Thanks for your response anyway.

Many thanks

Wrighty

keith-236785 00:13 15 Oct 04

You can keep the dial up account if you want but from my own experience with NTL, you shouldnt need it i havent in fact i no longer have a modem in my system. you can keep your e-mail address and set up Outlook Express or whatever e-mail prog you use to check via the broadband connection (but you wont be able to send e-mails that way, to do that you would need to be dialed into the relevant ISP).

NTL connect the modem via USB or LAN so if you want to you can still have your phone line connected and surge protected.

ps. when setting up your broadband to use the Lan connection, make sure that you have installed the lan drivers from your motherboard cd (or floppy disk if it is an add on lan card).