novice website designer . which software ??

ricky43 17:00 21 Mar 06

Hi
I am not a website designer, but would like to have a go. Does anyone know of a very simple software package I could buy to develop my own website. Hopefully it needs no technical knowledge (other than an indepth ability of word excel etc).

I have come across xsitepro which looks very good has anyone used it or knows of it.

Cheers
Rick

Boc01 17:03 21 Mar 06

I myself am only a novice and have tried loads of stuff, mainly the complecated macromedia software, but i have the easiest and most effective to use would be front page

mco 18:43 21 Mar 06

If you do a search in this forum you'll bring up a fair number of posts asking the same question and it might give you some more ideas and help.

JWJ 16:50 22 Mar 06

I started with Frontpage when I knew nothing about code. I used it's wysiwyg design mode to drag and drop my screen layouts and it coped very well. As I've learned more so I have been able to use FP more in 'coding mode' and take greater control over what I'm producing. Now I seldom use any of the 'novice' features in FP but I still use it. In other words, as I have grown in knowledge so FP has been what I wanted it to be.

JBX22 02:35 23 Mar 06

Hi I would echo JwJ. I think Macromedia, Flash, Dreamweaver etc are for more advanced users.
Frontpage is good for beginners (like me) as it has a good user interface. It's a bit like a
glorified version of word.

I bought the MS Guide to FP 200X which was a valuable reference tool. It's a blue and white MS officially approved
one - not the Dummies series) I could look up how to do the things I wanted to and do the right away. FP has some funny quirks and I went to a 10 week nightclass
on web programming. This tought me the basics of HTML. It gave me a good understanding of how web sites work,
the critically important nature of tables and also how to remove the spurious guff FP puts into pages.