Norton SystemWorks uninstall

DennisD 19:37 28 Aug 04

I'm read horror stories regarding uninstalling Norton SystemWorks 2003 & 2004 via XP's Add/Remove Programs. (Apparently it's very common to have the program uninstall partially & prevent the upgrade from installing correctly, & I understand that editing the registry is often the only solution.) I currently have SystemWorks 2003 Professional installed with Norton Antivirus 2003 bundled in with it. I'd like to eventually upgrade to a newer version, but I'm fearful of what might happen. I'm no techie, so I know to leave the registry alone. Symantec's support site acknowledges that there are problems, but the solution instructions are vague & contradicitory. I find this all amazing if you consider how many users have SystemWorks installed worldwide! Does anyone have any suggestions for someone like me regarding an easy, trouble-free uninstall of SystemWorks? Any advice is appreciated.

System info: Pentium 4 with XP Home SP1, 40 GB with 254 Mb memory, running Office 2003 Pro. & Roxio GoBack 3 Deluxe, among other stuff. Other installed Symantec items (installed separately from SystemWorks are Norton Personal Firewall 2003 & Norton Antispam 2004.

wallbash 21:36 28 Aug 04

Also will need this info in the very near future

so .... any experts willing to answer?

VoG II 21:46 28 Aug 04
  Peter 21:48 28 Aug 04

What will Norton SystemWorks 2004 provide that Norton SystemWorks 2003 doesn't and do you need it. If not don't upgrade; if it ain't broke, don't fix it.

This advice may not sound very helpful, but I find that only installing the software I really need saves a lot of problems.

Before you install anything, software or hardware, take a complete backup of the whole system so that when things go wrong you can get back to a working system.

Peter.

Strawballs 23:19 28 Aug 04