Norton System Works vs ???

foxman318 12:55 08 May 06

I have been running Norton SW for a few years now and have been appreciative about the various integral programmes it has to offer i.e. AntiVirus
Norton Utilities
Norton GoBack
CheckIt Diagnostics
System Optimizer

Norton SW 2006 has an icon in the sys tray that measures the integrity of my machine on boot-up. This can take several minutes and prevents me opening up other other programmes due to its high mem usage......likewise, its background scan will slow my system down. Come to think of it my machine runs slow most of the time. Am I right to blame Norton SW...Below is my PC Spec:

E Machines 590/790.
IM845G Motherboard.
Pentium 4 CPU 2.40GHz Processor.
2 GB RAM (DDR SDRAM) (184 Pin 333MHz PC2700 2.5v Unbuffered Non-ECC).
NVIDIA GeForce FX 5500 Graphic Card.
Hercules Sound Card.

OS Windows XP Home ver 2002 (Service Pack 2).
Norton System Works 2006.
Norton Fire wall 2006.
SpyWare Doctor.
XosftSpy.
Win Patrol.
SpyBot.

FireFox Browser.

It may be time for me to move on and I am hoping that forum members could illustrate other free/paid progs that could cover "all" that Norton SW has to offer.

TIA...........Fox

Genius1 13:10 08 May 06

I used to use Norton Internet Security 2005 and this slowed down my PCs performance drastically (my PC has a similar spec to yours). For this reason (it was becoming unbearably slow to open even the smallest of tasks) I switched to some of the free utilities recommended on this forum. I currently use AVG Antivirus, ZoneAlarm(firewall) and Microsoft Windows Defender (anti-spyware). So in answer to you question 'is Norton to blame' then I would say yes from my experience. As for other utilites that SystemWorks includes and their alternative counterparts, I'll leave that to other forum members!

stylehurst 14:24 08 May 06

Hi foxman