norton rescue disks

john1000 13:12 19 Jun 04

i have a system infected with the nby virus and i am creating a set of disks to boot up in dos to remove the virus when i select a floppy creatye disks it said that i needed 10 disks but disk no 7 is repeated twice tryed discs all loaded ok apart from no 7 looked at support this is a known prob the fix was to download the programme update through live update done this rebooted select create disks and 7 is still repeated any ideas or is there a way i can use the virus definations on these discs without no 7 thanks

end 13:22 19 Jun 04

with respect, as I understand it, you are only nOW creating your "rescue discs",..is that right??? or are they a set of about 10 floppies that you have already created and are now trying to use????

am just wondering ( a mere novice here), whether you CAN create a "useable" set of discs at this "late stage",, or am I wrong???
(and this has set ME "thinking" with a similar issue that I must start a thread on to prevent my hijacking THIS one!!)

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 13:26 19 Jun 04

If the virus is on your system its now too late to create the floppies as the virus will write itself on to them and you will be no better off.

If Norton won't get rid try one of these Anti Virus :-
avast4 click here
Antivir click here
AVG antivirus click here
Indivual virus removers:_
Stinger click here
Microworld click here

john1000 13:34 19 Jun 04

ok i have a system running 98 that is infected. i am creating a set of rescue disks on a computer running 98 that is not infected in nortons support you can make a set and use them on another computer you just get a warning at the start that they where not made on the same system type y and then continue my prob is aprob that was supposed to have been fixed with updateing norton rescue so it does not name one disk twice

end 13:47 19 Jun 04

???or could run a trend mirco house call?????which IS compatible with Norton( I run it here on mine)