Norton personal firewall - any good?

RamUK 18:02 23 Feb 03

Are personal firwalls any good.

I have a Norton virus checker installed but I seem to be getting more and more of the instant messenger type pop up ads that I can't stop. I've tried taking IE security settings up to the highest level from Medium High but all that does is make surfing a nightmare.

The arrival of these pop ups has made me think I'm at risk so was wondering whether it was worth shelling out the £35 or so to get a firewall and whether it would help me with this issue even if I did.

I'm running XP on a Dell 2.5Ghz machine.

Rayuk 18:09 23 Feb 03

You can get Zone Alarm or Sygate free a Firewall should be a must for everyone.

Leejg 18:09 23 Feb 03

I've been using Norton Firewall and Norton anti-virus for about 10 months now and all seems Ok, but I don't think it stops pop up adds. I use "Pop Up stopper" from Panicware it seems to do the job and it's free.

JoeC 18:12 23 Feb 03
  obbit 18:22 23 Feb 03

you would do better to save your money and download zonealarm firewall and avg anti-virus.

zonealarm click here

avg click here

they are free and are easy to install unlike norton which usually causes problems.
every day there are 3 or 4 threads on here by people having trouble with norton.

Sketch 18:24 23 Feb 03

I use Norton Firewall 2003 and it has the functionality of 'pop-stopping'... and thus far I've seen none!

Just last night my 56k driven system was attacked by a hacker in Norway. They were swiftly dealt with. How do I know that? Because it shows their IP address and then zooms around on this large world map and pin points their systems EXACT location!

Its all pretty scary really.

SKETCH

GANDALF <|:-)> 18:38 23 Feb 03