Noisy PCs and how to silence them?

gdawg 22:34 25 Mar 03

Hello to all the knowledgable types out there!

I've just purchased a new PC from Evesham, with an Athlon 2700+ and Radeon 9700 Pro, and like many people with such a system I switched it on for the first time...and wondered if it was going to fly across the room! The basic fan noise is fairly loud, and under a heavy graphics load it is even more noisy. So, I'd like to hear from anyone who knows, what products are good (eg Quiet PC have a PSU which is AMD approved - I notice a lot of PSUs don't seem to have this accolade) - I'm looking more at changing the case fan and PSU than stuffing the case with damping foam. Although I'm no novice as far as inserting PCI cards goes, I've never changed a PSU, case or CPU fan so I'd also like to know how tricky the process is? I don't want to cause my brand new jetplane (er...I mean PC! ;-) ) to blow up!

To anyone who responds - thanks for taking the time to read this and reply!

3aspect 22:44 25 Mar 03

click here

Have a look here for some ideas.

VoG™ 22:46 25 Mar 03

I freely admit to knowing sod all about this but click here

3aspect 22:50 25 Mar 03

Quiet fans and heaps of other stuff.
click here

MichelleC 08:23 26 Mar 03

If you want a quiet pc then don't get a ballbearing fan. I've got one but I don't mind the noise, but it's going to last a long time.

gdawg 01:08 27 Mar 03

Anybody have any ideas about the effect of changing a PSU on the warranty of a PC? I don't want to invalidate the warranty if I can help it, but I don't want to put up with the noise from the current fan setup!

Tog 07:54 27 Mar 03

I shoved my PC under the desk with only the drives accessible. The fans blow out into the space between the desk and the wall and by sitting it on a sheet of rubber to stop sound propagation I get a decent reduction in noise level with no intrusive changes to the PC. The older CDROM still competes with the vacuum cleaner but at least I no longer need ear plugs.