NOF and grandchildren

Diemmess 09:41 16 Aug 06

There ought to be an absolute beginners for web design, I would fit in better!
This forum has given me amazing support pulling me out of dark helplessness, to the point of being able to manage a very simple website.

Simple? question...
Is there a way of using NOF to add a "grandchild" page to a child page and have it show its navigation button in its parent?

At present I am using a work-around with links in and out of that new page (not yet uploaded to the site). In structure the new page is shown as a child of a child, but navigation buttons have yet to appear!

ade.h 13:21 16 Aug 06

Hi Diemmess, your usual respondent here! :-)

Do you mean that you want flyout submenus to expand out of the existing navigation bar, or would you prefer the new pages to be added to the existing navbar?

Don't worry to much about the effects of site structure if you want the latter, though it is very important if you want the former.

Your new pages can be added to each individual navigation bar by experimenting with the different settings on its properties palette: for example, you can change the page level that it uses, you can remove the index page from the menu, or go for the custom option. I usually go for that, as it guarantees getting the pages that I want.

When setting out your custom links, you can play around with their placement and even attach them to other pages (by a click and drag approach) if flyouts are used.

click here for an example of flyouts on one of my sites. Used here to categorise pages under section headings, if you will, and avoid huge navigation bars running down the side.

As always, feel free to ask me for more info if required.

Diemmess 13:56 16 Aug 06

Let it be known - I have no proprietorial rights over ade.h ...He just seems to pop up whenever I need help!
ade.h you are most welcome.

It will take some time to follow your advice like a half blind person trying to join up the dots.