//some 3rd party need geo

Noahs Computer!

spaciousmonti 22:26 10 Apr 03

I have inherited a crumbly old 120 mhz thingy.
It has a 1 gig hard drive, a floppy and a cdrom drive, 64 mb of memory and not much else.
Now before i start i am a student of the MCSE so dont be worried about the techie speak and yes I have checked the fuse in the plug ;-)

The story begins with trying to install an OS, with the windows 98 startup disc i can run fdisk and chkdsk and all, the hard disk is fine, formatted in fat32 and is recognised by the bios, so is the cdrom.

Sounds good yeah!

BUT,when I start it up with the 98 startup disc it recognises the HDD but not the cdrom! so I cannot install!

There is a floppy that came with it with the cdrom driver on it and instructions to startup with this and type install. This allows the cdrom to be recognised as the C:\ drive but NO HDD! so I cannot install!

This has led me to one of three possible choices.

1. Copy the cdrom drivers onto a windows 98 startup disk and try that!

2. Temporarily install the HDD in another pc and install windows 98 then ttransfer it back to the old pc (might casue a problem with hardware recognition or HAL.DLL?)

3. Hold the PC above my head, run down the landing and launch it out of the spare bedroom windows (could sell tickets, any takers?)

Please advise, or laugh, or just sob quietly with me.

Bagsey 22:42 10 Apr 03

Daft question. Have you checked the BIOS setting to see if the CD drive is set in the drive read sequence option so that it will look for and read from your 98 disk.

Falkyrn 22:45 10 Apr 03

3 sounds a good option

I'm not sure if you're not being a little ambitious with W98 given the specs of the machine you're installing to ... but in any case a basic floppy boot disc with CD drivers may be your best option (assuming of course that the bios cannot be accessed to boot from the CD Drive)

spaciousmonti 22:49 10 Apr 03