no pop up box

louandel 07:46 28 Dec 06

I recently added javascript to the new draft of my index page of my web site.
click here
I have found on other computers it works fine. but on my computer the pop box does not come up. I am therefore thinking the scripting is working but something maybe some settings maybe blocking it from showing on my computer? Anybody any ideas what these settings are? Or if thier could be some other reason. Also i have recently downloaded IE 7 which I am not mad on. how do i get IE 6 back?

Thanks for your help

louandel

mco 09:55 28 Dec 06

I'm no expert but it could well be IE7 - I got nothing when I tried your site in IE7 (though I did get a message asking me if I wanted to allow scripted windows - I said yes, but still got nothing) However in both Opera and Firefox the 'what's your name' box came up fine.

louandel 11:22 28 Dec 06

So either I find out how to allow the prompt box or I revert to IE 6. Anybody got any good ideas how i can do either?

louandel

mco 12:25 28 Dec 06

I presume you could download and save (not run) IE6 (from eg click here
and then go to Add/Remove Programs and remove Windows IE7, then go back and run IE6. However, that doesn't solve the original problem and that needs to be fixed since increasingly more people will be using IE7.

louandel 12:30 28 Dec 06

Which brings me back to square one...perhaps someone knows of a helpline i could contact for IE7?

PurplePenny 20:34 28 Dec 06

Have you got pop-ups blocked in IE7? I can't remember whether that is the default setting.

louandel 22:34 28 Dec 06

I've stopped pop ups being blocked by clicking on the tool bar when i am in the site. Still no good.
There must be a box I tick somewhere...to do with javascript maybe...having said that the javascript that brings up the days of the week comes up fine. Help!

louandel

barryoneoff.co.uk 00:01 29 Dec 06