no luck setting up wireless connection

heine otto 13:58 26 Sep 06

Am trying to set up son's new wireless router, with no joy. I am new to all this computer malarky. Added complication is that the computer in question is at ex-wife's house, and my girlfriend is not too chuffed at the time spent round there. Really need easy to follow advice.

I have attached a dual splitter to the phone line, and wireless modem and computer. All lights on as per the instructions, including a number against one of the connections to say that there is a connection to the internet.

However when I try to conntect to the internet I get a message to say no dial tone. I have tried to input the 192.168.2.1 http, but still just the no dail tone.

The computer was previously broadband via a wired modem.

Any help gratefully accepted

ade.h 14:54 26 Sep 06

Just to clarify: is the numbered light an Ethernet connection indicator? If so, that merely indicates the presence of an Ethernet-connected client, nothing more.

Can you not access the config at all? I assume by your use of the 2.1 octet that this a Belkin. If not, you won't be using 2.1.

Have you configured your internet options - on the Connections tab - to never dial a connection? Have you uninstalled or at least disabled any old modem software that may run actively?

Are your cables and filters all known quantities? In other words, do they work?

The first step is to access the config; then you will be able to configure a new WAN connection and go from there.

heine otto 20:11 26 Sep 06

thanks for reply

ignore the number above, I did put in the right number last night. it is a netgear

yes numbered light is Ethernet connection indicator

yes I have configured internet options to never dial a connection

no I haven't uninstalled or disabled the old modem software

the cables and filters came with the router all new. they work in as far as all the lights that are meant to come on do so. other than that cant be sure.