no landline

Simpsonleys 22:56 26 Dec 03

My brother lives on a houseboat and has no telephone landline. He accesses the net by mobile phone at present which is costly. He is looking for a cheaper solution. There is an office a couple of hundred yards away where there is a telephone line and he is wondering about the practicality of installing a computer which he and about 10 others could use for access to the net. Is there any way of connecting this to his houseboat. Details or urls of sites with solutions gratefully received

Gaz 25 23:17 26 Dec 03

He could get his phone on contract.

fishermangeoff 23:23 26 Dec 03

i was at a canal boat show last august bank holiday and there was a stall dealing with allsorts of boating internet issues unfortunatly i can not remember any details about his name etc.the show was the iwa show at beale park berks,i guess you could track it down with the help of google now that you know it exists. i build narrow boats for a living but our customers use mobiles to access the net(top end boats so wealthy clients)their companys pick up the phone bills i guess.

Forum Editor 23:46 26 Dec 03

(and I imagine that it is)your brother can have an ordinary BT landline installed - hundreds of houseboats have them. Provided the local exchange is ADSL enabled he could even have a broadband connection.