No connectivity on only one pc

Heffalump 15:08 03 Jan 09

I have lost connectivity on my main pc (connected to Negear router by ethernet) whilst the wireless laptops are fine. I know there have been several threads on this problem butI still have not managed to resolve mine and it's driving me mad!

I have tried: Turning off modem and router; checking cables including switching ethernet ports; restoring system; checking Firewall settings; running Repair which gives error message saying can't find IP address and i might need to contact Network manager (that's me - help!); checking IP and DSN are on obtain automatically; running Windows NetworkDiagnostics which concluded that I the modem is faulty

Does this make sense? I thought it wouldn't be the modem if the wireless machines are connected?

Any suggestions? Easy instructions pls as I am no techie!!

kindly 15:53 03 Jan 09

Have you tried to connect a cable that goes to one of the working laptops to the NOT working computer. If you have did it work. Have you tried the cable from the NOT working computer to a working one to see if it works on that one. After that if the computer works with the other cable then it must be the original cable that is faulty. If the computer that does not work still does not work then I would check your setting on the computer for the network cables.
Hope this helps. sorry about the way its worded

Heffalump 16:09 03 Jan 09

Hi kindly, thanks for your promt reply.

Not sure quite what you mean - you are talking to a bear with a very little brain here. THe 2 working laptops are wireless. Not sure how I will know if cable is working or not if I plug it into them!

How do I check my setting for nework cables? Is it in Device Manager?

Cheers

kindly 16:55 03 Jan 09