No connection to adapter

BRADS11 15:10 16 Sep 06

I have a BT home hub which is wired to 1 pc and have just bought a BT Voyager 5100 adapter which I have spent most of today trying to get to work. When I go into wireless connections sometimes it will show my connection, more often it wont, and if I highlight it and try to connect it wont work. I have disabled the firewall and non-wireless connections and moved the hub beside the 2nd PC and tried using the voyager driver and windows to set it up. Any suggestions??

amateurann 17:50 16 Sep 06

Have you installed the BT Home Hub CD and run from there?

BRADS11 20:31 16 Sep 06

Tried through home hub but it doesnt find the adapter. Also tried through voyager driver and windows wireless network set up but still no joy.

amateurann 21:22 16 Sep 06

Sorry I'm not a techie just someone with a hub. Sounds like a faulty adapter. Do you get any error messages in contol panel, system,network adapters?

BRADS11 12:38 17 Sep 06

When I go into the BT connection manager it says not broadcasting and unable to connect to hub.

ade.h 15:39 17 Sep 06

Are you using manual IP assignment or DHCP? Is MAC filtering enabled? Can you post your ipconfig results, please? Could you clarify which method you are using - WZC plus device driver only or 3rd-party management software - to run this adapter?

BRADS11 15:46 17 Sep 06

ade.h, you know my posting on the absolute beginners site... I really am a novice and didnt understand a thing you just said!!

ade.h 16:00 17 Sep 06

Please try to answer my questions, otherwise I can't offer much advice.

I would like to know whether you have disabled either the DHCP server in the router/hub or the DHCP Client service on the problem client or whether you have changed the IP and DNS settings for the WLAN adapter.