Nice easy Wireless Network Questions!

Dearersteak 12:34 31 Jul 03

Hi all! Ok, Nice simple one for ya today i hope! Basically, My dad wants an internet connection in the garage so he can research parts, without having to walk all the way up the garden to the house to use the PC. So... I've pulled out there old dusty IBM thinkpad Laptop, Installed XP on it (and believe me, it won't be setting any speed records). Not at the moment, I've just plugged them in via a cross over cat5! Not parts we're needed as both machines had network cards! So this enabled me to download all the Xp service pack, and something like 34 other updates, which took all of forever to install! But now i want to put the laptop in the garage, and dew to the extreme weather here, (i'm staying in new jersey in the US at the moment where my dad lives) We can't run a cable without digging a 3 foot deep trench because of the harsh winter. So the next best step, would be to go wireless.

Now i'm a veteran of cabled networks, and have had a lot for practices, But this is the first time i've gone wireless. No the cards i'm looking to buy are both 2.5Ghz cards, But i noticed that are house phone is the same! Is this going to be a problem? Will they interfere?

Secondly, I only intend on a network card for both machines! that is to say, no hub/router/switch (the desktop is supplying the broadband connection! Trying to keep it all as cheap as possible!

All and any input about the subject is more the welcome! Thanks!

Dearersteak 14:00 31 Jul 03

The other thing i ment to mention, was that are nieghoors are running a wireless network to! If they cross over, can i encrpyed are network? What other sulltions are there to this problem

PS, Sorry about all the typo's, But its still to ealry!

Dearersteak 16:07 31 Jul 03

Hmm, ok, questions must'nt be as easy as i had hoped! ANY input is welcome! Please! Got to set this network up in a matter of hours!