Newcomer with WMP Burning Problems

calonlan 14:46 31 Jan 07

Hi, I have not been long at this computing business and have run into problems on my first attempt at burning a CD. I am a retired Pro Singer and my Daughter who has Pro Tools has just recorded me for a CD of 17 songs which turned out fine.She burned a master disc ( She has NERO ) and I transferred them into my Music and made a Playlist, ( I have Windows Media Player 11). I then commenced to burn and watched the progress which seemed fine.I tried it in Player but it just kept spinning and the word error came up. no music. I then tried it in my computer....nothing. I know this sounds stupid but I looked at the burned CD and it has shading for about half an inch from the edge, is this normal ? I went into my Computer (E) it just said used 64 available 64. So it seems I had not burned anything. I tried it again and the same exactly happened with a new disc., but what is the shading ? I could hear what seemed to be burning going on and each song had Pending and then Writing to disc coming down the list and finally Finalised.
As I say this is my first attempt and would appreciate any help.
Thanks
calonlan

SANTOS7 17:00 31 Jan 07

click here
If these are the steps you are following you should not go wrong..

calonlan 18:38 31 Jan 07

Hi Santos7. Thank you very much for your very detailed answer to my problem. I will study them this evening in more depth. I have been advised by a friend that the burned disc might not have finalised, although I remember at the end of burning the final song it went on to say finalising but what is the answer if this is not happening ?
Thanks again.
calonlan.

SANTOS7 18:52 31 Jan 07

Not sure for a minute, finalising a disc is normally
done automatically (it does in MP10)..

Follow the steps see what happens and we can go from there,good luck..

realist 20:09 31 Jan 07

After probs burning with WMP I now use DeepBurner.... so much easier to use and no error messages!
click here