Newbie to web design, needs help

dave_the_red 14:34 15 Sep 04

Hi I am completely new to web design, and want to design a web page but have not got a clue to what it involves.
Which software needs to be used? what do i need to learn first? etc.

Does anybody know of any beginners tutorials or good software for a beginner?
Thanks for your time

Dave

Baledor 16:39 15 Sep 04

Such an open question - where to start? Well firstly web design falls into 2 categories, those who advocate WYSIWYG (What You See Is What You Get) designers, basically these allow you to drag and drop HTML elements onto the web page and require very little HTML knowledge.

The second kind are your standard format coding programs, where you type your HTML code into a development environment and then usually you select a button to preview your web page in a browser.

I (personally) prefer the latter as you will learn the code as you go along and develop your knowledge, but it all depends on what you wish to do, if you are looking to put a few pictures of you, your missus and the cat then WYSIWYG will see you fine.

Many programs are available free from place like ZDnet, CNet, Tucows (search for these using Google), when I was first starting out I used to use 1stPage 2000 from EVRSoft (click here) I particularly liked the way it allowed you to have the development environment as complex or as simple as you like.

Another stop on your trawl round the internet should be the W3C website, they recommend the standards for HTML and web development, they have loads of literature on their website to guide you away from creating a disaster.

Lastly when you are ready to start, have a search on the net for tutorials, there are loads out there, which will set you off on the right path.