Newbie Help Required

Baccus 09:42 22 May 05

Hello, i have a problem with my 2 week old PC, since day one i have had this message pop up on my desktop...

"The procedure entry point iphlpapi.IcmpSendEcho could not be located in the dynamic link library ICMP.dll"

Anybody know what this means and how i get rid of it....bearing in mind i'm new to this???

Thanks in advance for any replies.

john-232317 10:03 22 May 05

It sounds like a registry fault, can you take the PC back to where you bought it as its only two weeks old ?

p;3 10:04 22 May 05

I have no idea what the message is or means; however, could you please give you Operating ssytem (E.G. XP, 2000prof), are you running Internet explorer and if so which version; do you have antivirus software on there and if so which; e,g norton, AVG,

the Windows version will show up when you first boot up; it displays on you monitor for you ;
and what other things do you have installed on there antispy stuff etc:)

try that for starters for you to inform the forum:)

Baccus 10:23 22 May 05

Hi, the operating system is Win XP Pro and i have Norton Internet Security 2005 installed. Not sure how to find out mt Internet Explorer version (can't see anything in properties)?

I can send it back if it comes to it but would rather try and sort it out first.

Pooke100 10:32 22 May 05

do you have a windows disk?

go to start> run and type in: sfc /scannow

john-232317 10:32 22 May 05

Click on help, scroll down to about and click on it.

bremner 10:38 22 May 05

From MSKB

"Icmp.dll provides functionality that allows developers to write Internet ping applications on Windows systems without Winsock 2 support"

I would run system file checker (SFC) and see if that finds any missing or corrupted system files.

Put your XP CD in the drive. (Close down the window that appears)

Then go Start > Run and type sfc /scannow and click OK. Let this proceed and see what is reported.