newbie with 2 questions security & monitors

skizee 18:46 04 Feb 08

hi

i am in the process of buying my first computer(im 41!!) i am SO looking forward to getting it, but i am nervous at the same time as i know little about the whole thing.

i have been buying various computer magazines for around 6 months to get some more knowledge.

anyway my questions are:

1. i am very confused with regards to internet security. i looked at the reviews in PC advisor and have just looked at the ones on this site as well, and am more confused! i was leaning towards kaspersky, but it appears not to be the best choice for novices. what exactly do i need, there seems to be anti virus and other products as well. my computer shop has recommened AVG brand.

2. monitor. i am looking to do a fair bit of photoediting and possibly some video as well, but at a later stage. i have looked at the LG flatron L226WTQ 22inch which has got a good write up on this site, my computer shop has recommended the asus PW191-AS 19inch. i have done a search and got some info on it but it doesnt appear to be as good as the LG.

the spec i have been quoted at my local computer shop is (they were very helpful):

antec mid
ATX tower
600w PSU
Asus P5K motherboard
Intel E6750 CPU
2GB DDRII memory
sata DVDRW
320GB sata 16mb cache
8600 GTs 512mb
windows XP home
monitor as above
office 2007 small business
and lastly a multi card reader
£970 incl vat.

but i have had a think and would like some opinions, i assume the above is a good system, but do i need it or could i get away with something a bit cheaper.

many thanks and look forward to hopefully reading your responses!

peter99co 19:04 04 Feb 08