New User – help with Opera please

GroupFC 16:55 24 Feb 03

Hi, I am a new (and a complete novice!) computer user and have been following various threads here to learn as much as possible in the shortest amount of time (I know a massive undertaking!).

I have recently installed Opera (version 6.05), from a rival(!) computer mags. cover disc, as from various postings and articles I have seen this is supposed to be a fast browser with “added extras”. I say supposed to be as I can’t get past the starting line.

When I start Opera I get a message pop up saying “Couldn’t locate remote server”. I am on a dial up connection with Supanet.com and whenever I use IE6, which I have up until now, the dial up connection automatically pops up.

I assume I have to configure Opera in some way but does anybody know what I have to do?

Any advice/comments will be gratefully received.

GroupFC 17:42 24 Feb 03

Anybody got any helpful(!) suggestions, please

Cordy13 17:55 24 Feb 03

One way around it would be to open in IE then switch to Opera.

GroupFC 18:01 24 Feb 03

Yes, thanks for that. I have already thought of that one but it would be less hassle if I could just get Opera to open direct.

Anybody else?

-pops- 18:06 24 Feb 03

Do you have Opera as your default browser?

Brian

Cordy13 18:07 24 Feb 03

Hang on 'til VOG appears, think he may know how to configure it!

-pops- 18:08 24 Feb 03

BTW the current version of Opera is 7.01

Brian

platty100 18:09 24 Feb 03

could go to "control panel" "network connections" righ click on your conection in there, then click on "create a shortcut" will then put you one on the desktop .When you want to dial up click on your shortcut on the desktop. then when connected start opera (this is what i do)
also (NOT CERTAIN IF THIS WOULD WORK) if you go to file on opera then prefferances default browser put a tick in "check to see if opera is the default browser. then when you star it it will ask you if you want to make it the default browser