new PC and Tiscali broadband woes

tasslehoff burrfoot 22:42 05 May 04

Hi all, I have been using Tiscalis 156kb package for about 3 months with no probs.

However I have now bought a new PC and am having problems connecting. I have mislaid the CD I got with the modem so have got a pay as you go dial up connection to tiscali and downloaded the drivers, so that's fine. All is installed and I have copied the connection settings from the old PC to the new one but the new one won't connect. I get a "error 721: the remote computer has not responded" error (the wording may not be exact but that's the gist). I called Tiscali CS and they said there was a problem with my ADSL line and have reported a fault with BT. I called BT and they said there is no fault and Tiscali have no way of telling, so I called tiscali again and they said it was a network problem at their end and would take 4 days to fix. Yet my old PC still connects fine so I assume this is wrong also.

Just got a call from some tech guy at tiscali and he said he will send me a new modem CD which will solve the problem, but will it, bearing in mind I have downloaded the drivers?
I am on the old PC now, running 98se. New one runs XP home. Have disabled Norton firewall on new PC still no joy.

I notice in XP there is a files and settings transfer wizard. Is there one on 98se? if so can I copy my IE settings onto a floppy and put them on the new PC with this?

Any other suggestions?

Please?
any help/suggestions would be gratefully recieved.

TIA

TAS

Tangy 23:05 05 May 04

Looks like your new computer has conflicts with broadband. click here;en-us;Q318009

Tangy 23:08 05 May 04

The above link doesn't seem to work. Try the following link, click here & search for '318009' in the Search box.

tasslehoff burrfoot 23:25 05 May 04

Thanks for the link, a couple more questions: