new pc

rabz 16:55 14 Dec 06

hi im a university student looking for a new pc. i am really confused on wat to buy? i just need a general pc not too basic but it doesnt need to be too advanced?

Gongoozler 16:59 14 Dec 06

Hi rabz. It very much depends on whether you want to use the computer for graphics intensive gaming. If you don't, then almost any computer will suffice. If you do want to play games, then depending on the gaming performance you want processor speed and graphics power may be critical.

zemdarin 17:01 14 Dec 06

You can get one quite easily now from Mesh or your local computer shop quite cheap. Just make sure it is Vista ready if you want the latest model. Most have excellent spec now with plenty of memory good hard disc GB on them. Perhaps you should look at a laptop so you can carry it around easy.

skidzy 17:25 14 Dec 06

No doubt zemdarin means well when recommending MESH,but i would suggest you research Mesh within PCA search box or even Google.I think you may get quite a shock regarding there after sales service.

Personally i would recommend someone like Novatech,Dell (my preference),PC World.

If you can post what you need the system to do,we can try to find some suggestions for you.

zemdarin pointed out maybe a laptop,being a student this may be the best bet.Though value for money....you will get a lot more for your money with a desktop than a laptop,though a laptop would be a lot easier for you,as access would be there at your fingertips while you are on the move.

john-232317 17:33 14 Dec 06

Go to a small local firm and get some advise from them as to what you need, I am sure they will build you one cheaper and with better after sales.

Totally-braindead 18:08 14 Dec 06