New Motherboard - Will I have to re-install Vista?

kidda123 22:27 19 Feb 09

Hi All,

I am going to upgrade my mobo from a ASUS M2N-MX SE Plus to a XFX Geforce 8200. The reason for the upgrade is that the new board should suit a HTPC better.

Want I want to know is will I have to go through the trauma of a new vista install? I don't really mind the install so much as the replacement of drivers and programs etc.

Cheers.

Kidda123

Totally-braindead 22:35 19 Feb 09

I'll let someone else answer this as I am not an expert on Vista but with XP you could do a repair which allowed you to keep everything else as is.
However although I know people who have done this successfully with XP I personally never did it myself I always did a clean install because thats what I prefered to do.
Assumming that Vista is the same in this respect as XP then I see no reason that you cannot do this but if your copy of Vista is not a Full copy and is an OEM copy then it is my understanding that it may fail validation as its meant to die with the old computer and it may consider a new motherboard as a new PC. This was an issue that could happen with XP, not always but sometimes.
Not wanting to cloud the issue I am sure someone who is a Vista expert will confirm if there are any issues.

wis 22:35 19 Feb 09

yes sir the big hit

sil_ver 22:38 19 Feb 09

It's always a good idea to do a re-install of the O/S after a mobo change as there can be some conflicts causing inexplicable errors. In fact it's not unknown for a PC to refuse to boot.

kidda123 23:27 19 Feb 09

I have the retail upgrade version from my original XP disc. Purchased from PC world so defo not OEM.

I have both discs, will I have to install XP again first and then Vista on top off that?

I've only just thought about that!!

gazzaho 08:54 20 Feb 09