New mobo but processor speed wrong

rich88 18:09 18 Sep 04

i bought a new processor (AMD ATHON 3200)and found out my motherboard did not go pass 166fsb, previously i had a AMD 2500, i bought a new motherboard (Gigabyte GA-7VT600- 400mzh FSB), i installed it and it works but it runs as an-ATHON tm- with no name and it runs at 1.1ghz instead of something like 2.2ghz, do i have to fiddle with the jumpers, or the bios, im a noob with jumpers so please explain in a dumbed down explaination thanks

Noleg24 18:37 18 Sep 04

setting jumpers can help to increase/decrease the speeds but be careful as some of the changes can be fatal and cause the CPU to stop working altogether. your best bet would be to get the 2500 Athlon XP back and return the mobo and get the MSI K7N2 Delta-ILSR cos when you put this mobo with the AMD AthlonXP 2500 you can overclock it to 3200 just by going into the BIOS. but make sure its the Barton core version of the 2500 cos not is it reliable but when it overclocks to 3200 which is about 2.2GHz your flying mate..so your better off with MSI Delta K7N2-ILSR click here will give you more info and the AMD Athlon 2500 as long as you aint gotten rid of it...

Noleg24 18:39 18 Sep 04

one more thing...make sure you have a decent sized fan to cool th CPU if and when you overclock it to 2.2GHz...mine is at 40 degrees C with the same heatsink and FAN since I built my PC back in Jan 2004..and yes I have the MSI mobo so I wouldnt be telling you this for nothing...

Gaz W 18:40 18 Sep 04

I think you need to adjust the SW1 switch on your motherboard. I think you will find instructions on page 10 of your motherboard manual. It needs to be set to 166MHz/200MHz (same setting for both I think) to get a 400MHz FSB. This should run your processor at the correct speed automatically.