New Laptop Battery

The Ghost of Inept Pig 12:50 07 Mar 06

Afternoon all,

I've order a replacement laptop battery for a family member, I fairly sure it's the right one - and will work perfectly well.

However, I am by no means an expert on laptops, so would appreciate it if you have any advice that I could pass on when using a new battery - I found this on the website that sold me the battery:

"NEW LAPTOP BATTERY TIPS:

How to charge/condition your new laptop battery

It is VERY IMPORTANT that you "condition" your new battery before you use it - you must understand that ALL new batteries behave erratically until they have been conditioned properly. Many people think there is a fault when they actually have a perfectly good battery which simply requires proper conditioning.

You will receive your laptop battery fully discharged and unconditioned. If you turn on your laptop, expecting it to work straight away you will be dissapointed. Your battery will normally take 3 or 4 charges to reach it's proper capacity and operation (sometimes more charges are needed) - until this time it is usual for it to perform strangely and hold only a little charge. Also, the LEDs and charge indicators on your charger and laptop will not give accurate information until the battery is fully conditioned - so dont take too much notice of what they do or dont indicate - just follow the instructions below.

On the first charge, your laptop may indicate that charging is complete after a short period of around 15 mins. This is to be expected - simply remove the battery from your laptop and repeat the charging procedure. You should then use your laptop - WITHOUT the assistance of mains power, until the battery completely runs down.

Repeat the above procedure around 4 times in total over the course of the next few days - make sure you allow you battery sufficient time to get a full charge, normally an overnight charge will suffice"