New ATX Case help

Giggle n' Bits 00:19 08 Nov 05

choosing parts for building my second self build pc but stuck on a Case. Can I ask the following

Are these Silver Metal Lian Li & Coolermaster etc type cases really desinged to be cooler because of there material & Design ?

Does anyone own any case like a Lian Li PC60 silver case and would like to give there verdict on the case for ease to build in and quality

anyone know good places around the web for honest Case reviews for this type of case please

Totally-braindead 00:59 08 Nov 05

I have no personal experience of these cases you mention but from what I have read they are designed to provide better cooling plus they are in many cases quieter than cheaper cases. The thing that has always put me off is the price of them. My PC is not excessively noisy and runs cool enough and if I was going to spend more money I'd rather spend it on something else. Have a look here and see what info they have click here

007al 01:03 08 Nov 05

i have a thermaltake soprano case.its not aluminium,but it doesnt look bad,and has good,quiet case fans with good enough cooling..£46 without psu

De Marcus™ 01:48 08 Nov 05

My case is aluminium, and it acts as one large heat spreader, under load the case is warm to touch yet cpu temp never rises above 42c, the setup is a shuttle system however, my other machine is encased in steel, and is nowhere near as efficient.

The design of the cooling system in the shuttle is quite clever in that there's only one large fan in the case, it's sits 1" above the cpu heat-pipe and is attached to the outside of the psu, which in turn is also cooled by this fan. The psu has direct contact on 4 sides with the external aluminium case, which as mentioned dissipates the heat throughout the casing.

Aluminium does help to dissipate heat a lot, however the initial cooling system is a priority if it's to do the job properly, if that's inefficient, then there's no point in paying extra for Alu.