New 40gb PATA 2mb , 7200 RPM hard drive insalled

wilbren 19:28 17 Dec 06

IHAVE INSTALLED A NEW HARD DRIVE IN MY DELL DIMENSION 4400 COMPUTER, AND CONNECTED IT AS A SLAVE UNIT ,THE PRIMARY(original )IS DRIVE C, THE SLAVE IS DRIVE E.
THE MAIN REASON FOR THE ADDITION IS TO INSTALL MICROSOFT'S FLIGHT SIMULATOR PROGRAM,BUT THIS REQUIRES 15GB OF HARD DRIVE SPACE AND I ONLY 9GB ON MY MAIN HARD DRIVE (C). BUT WHEN I TRY AND INSTALL THE PROGRAM IT INFORMS ME THAT THIS CANNOT BE DONE AS IT WILL NOT INSTALL TO A ROOT DRIVE.I CANNOT FREE UP ANY MORE SPACE ON MY "C" DRIVE.
I AM A 75 YEAR OLD NOVICE, TRYING TO KEEP MY LITTLE GRAY CELLS GOING, CAN SOMEONE PLEASE HELP.
WILBREN

Totally-braindead 19:34 17 Dec 06

Don't use capitals all the time please as its considered shouting and is a bit more differcult to read as well.

Regarding the game you might be stuck. Some games insist they are installed on the C drive and will not allow the game to be installed anywhere else. Most will but some won't.
I haven't this game myself so cannot comment further on that but what size is your original drive? Could you not try installing some of the programs on that onto your new drive?

I'll go see if theres anything on the MS website.

Totally-braindead 19:35 17 Dec 06

Og forgot to ask which MS flight sim is it as theres a few?

Technotiger 19:45 17 Dec 06

Hi, I have Flight Sim X installed on an external drive, works perfectly.

At the start of the Installation progress you should not just accept the usual 'Flightsim will be installed to C:/Games/ etc' but instead, click on Browse (shown at the side), then you can tell it to install on E:/Games or whatever the folder is, where the game will be installed.

I hope that makes sense - BTW (that means By The Way), I too am an oldie.

Cheers

Totally-braindead 19:46 17 Dec 06

In case its not the latest one you have heres MS support for games click here

woodchip 19:51 17 Dec 06