networking problem again

InZaNE_mOdS 16:26 07 Dec 03

Hi i am grateful to say my network works very well and sharing files too. Now my problem is can i share a cd drive. as i tried and it said it is not accessible from the other machine. Also remote desktop connection doesnt work. can someone tell me how to make it work?

LastChip 18:02 07 Dec 03

You should be able to share a cd drive. Right click the drive and select the sharing preferences.

Which operating system are you referring to?

InZaNE_mOdS 18:41 07 Dec 03

xp pro. thats what i did. it says not accessible. so i didnt know.

LastChip 18:52 07 Dec 03

Did you do this in the logged in as Administrator?

It sounds like the program is refusing you "admin" privileges.

InZaNE_mOdS 18:56 07 Dec 03

well i am an admin on both machines. although one machine i am the true admin on the xp, i.e. i sign in as administrator. and on the other machine which cant access it i only made a new account called admin. how can i make it viewable by others then. I can access the drive over the network fine on the one it is physically attached to.

InZaNE_mOdS 18:56 07 Dec 03

well i am an admin on both machines. although one machine i am the true admin on the xp, i.e. i sign in as administrator. and on the other machine which cant access it i only made a new account as admin. how can i make it viewable by others then. I can access the drive over the network fine on the one it is physically attached to.

InZaNE_mOdS 18:59 07 Dec 03

oops sorry about extra post. ignore top one, the bottom is the correct one.

LastChip 19:11 07 Dec 03

Do you have XP on both machines? (Home or Pro?)

If not, can you please confirm from which machine you cannot access the drive.

InZaNE_mOdS 19:54 07 Dec 03

i have both on pro

LastChip 20:09 07 Dec 03

I'm a bit puzzled about this, as XP should have automatically set this account up on installation.

Did you grant yourself full access privileges?