Networking for Dummies

slightlymad 22:44 10 Jun 06

I'm completely new to networking, and I would very much appreciate some help as to where to begin.

I have a new wireless laptop, and I would like it to share both my home PC's broadband connection AND files.

Do I start with a router? If so, a recommendation would be very welcome.

Taff™ 23:27 10 Jun 06

It depends if you have ADSL (BT) or a Cable (NTL/Telewest) connection so click here and select the correct one for a good range of different makes and models. You will need to wireless enable your other PC using an internal card or a USB wireless Adapter.

slightlymad 23:59 10 Jun 06

Sorry, I should have mentioned that I have ADSL.

As for an internal card, I've just checked my home PC's specs and I see that it's already fitted with an ASUS Wireless LAN Card, 802.11g, 54Mbit/sec.

That's good, isn't it?

Now what? Which router? I'd like the range to be 240 metres.

mgmcc 08:06 11 Jun 06

To create a wireless network for Internet access and File/Printer sharing, you have essentially two options:

1) Install a Wireless Network Adapter in each PC and create an “Ad Hoc” Wireless Network. This is a network in which the two PCs talk directly with one another, rather than via a Wireless Access Point. “Internet Connection Sharing” is then enabled on the actual Internet connection in the “host” PC and the “client” PC will have Internet access provided the “host” is running and online.