Network Sharing Problems

Large JD 12:11 23 Jan 06

I have recently purchased and installed a Belkin Wireless Pre-N router. I have installed it on my desktop main pc no probs, and can access the internet. I am trying to set up a home network so as to allow my laptop to connect wireless to the internet and to be able to share files, folder and printers etc between both pc's. I have tried following the XP home network wizard but no joy.

I am a complete novice to both wireless and networking.
I would appriciate some step-by-step guideance on how to configure things.
I have visited 1 or 2 wedsites from previous threads but its all above me.

Also if possible how do i make the wireless connection safe, as it shows my wireless point as unsecure.

My desktop is running XP pro, with Nortons firewall.

My laptop is running XP home, with only the windows firewall enabled. (plan to install Nortons once network problem is sorted)

Many Thanks in advance
JD

mgmcc 08:33 24 Jan 06

As both computers have internet access via the router, they are already "networked". You should set at least one folder as "shared" in each PC by right clicking it and selecting the Sharing & Security option. The firewalls in both computers need to be configured to allow local network traffic through and that should basically be it.

However, there is an additional issue when accessing a PC with XP "Pro" installed. You need to be logged into the "client" PC with a Username/Password that matches a User Account set up in XP Pro.

<<< Also if possible how do i make the wireless connection safe, as it shows my wireless point as unsecure. >>>

There will be settings in the router to enable WEP or WPA encryption. Enable this by creating and entering a "key" and you will then have to enter the same key into the Wireless Adapters' software to be able to connect to the network.

Large JD 09:51 24 Jan 06