Network Querry???

Madpad_001 10:19 22 Feb 04

Hello to all,
Firstly I am a complete novice to this so any and all help will be brill.
I am trying to network myhome pc and laptop together, they both have network cards (win XP says they are working fine) and both have win XP home installed on them. Can i buy a network cable and just connect both PC's together or do i need some extra hardware? I only want to use a cable network at the moment but will try wifi later on.
once again any help on this will put a big smileon my face.

Taran 10:28 22 Feb 04

You need a crossover cable, sometimes called a cross-patch cable. They cost a few pounds from most PC outlets and you literally plug one end into each computer.

You need to set at least one folder on each machine for sharing. To do this you right click on the folder, click on Sharing and Security, then follow the prompts to enable file sharing.

It can also help to assign static IP addresses to both machines so that as soon as they are plugged into the "network" which, in this case, will be nothing more than the machines detecting a "live" feed from the cable, each machine will know where the other is due to assigning a constant address.

If this is all a bit confusing - most people find that it is when they first start out - you can just use the network connection wizard in your Control Panel which normally gets people up and running quite well.

There's a pretty good article on the Microsoft site on how to go about simple networking using the wizard: click here

If you come unstuck, post again and one of us will walk you through the whole process of assigning static IP addresses.

Madpad_001 10:59 22 Feb 04

Hello again,
Thanks for the above. I have run the network wizard on both machinces and connected a network cable between each but I am haveing no joy. I only have a little icon down the bottom right of my sceen saying local area conection cable is unplugged????
am I still doing some thing wrong!!!!!