Network Hub or Switch, whats the difference

keith-236785 11:39 20 Aug 03

I currently have a 2 computers networked via a crossover cable.
however i am looking at buying a hub but am confused. what is the difference between a Hub & a Switch?.

I know i will need to replace my cable, i dont have a problem with that.
its just what to buy, switch or hub... and why.

Any help would be appreciated.

for information, i will be networking a Linux (upstairs pc)and a WinXPPRO computer (main pc with NTL Broadband) and maybe later a laptop (Win 98SE), are there any known problems etc.

i would also appreciate any help anyone could give to set up the linux networking as im a novice to linux. (mandrake 9.1)

thanks
Keith

Legolas 11:51 20 Aug 03

click here click here

If you have only two machines and you are not going to add more then there is little benifit in a hub or a switch. If you want to share your BB connection and you want to access the internet on the machine upstairs without the other machine being on then you will need a router.

DieSse 12:39 20 Aug 03

Switches are faster.

The last switch I bought had cable auto-sensing - it could use standard or crossover cables, and sorted it all out for itself - ideal!

keith-236785 10:26 21 Aug 03

thanks for your advice, however which do you think would best for a linux/windows setup?

sorry to appear thick but networking so far has been a nightmare for me and moving on to linux is totally new.

Diesse i like the sound of the cable auto-sensing, what make is it and was it expensive?

Also i have read about built in firewalls in hubs, is this present in them all or do you have to look at the boxes?, as all adverts i have seen so far have been confusing to say the least.

thanks again
keith

Rowey 11:02 21 Aug 03

The difference between a hub and a switch is as follows...