Network - 3Com - NTL

Dords 14:16 07 Aug 05

Hello, I have set up OfficeConnect ADSL Wireless 11g Firewall Router PPPoA - POTS. PC(XP)- but cannot see other pc (2000)
LAN and WLAN green lights show but not SYNC or ONLINE.
I cannot share Internet or files. 2000 PC HAS 3Com adapter and is picking up signal from Router.

I am new to this and frustrated.
I have NTL BROADBAND - connected to Thompson modem (usb + adsl.
Router Lan and adsl connected to pc.

Where am I going wrong? Can anyone help please.

Taff36 21:48 07 Aug 05

Just to clarify - you have 2 PC`s one XP and the other Win2000. You are on NTL Cable broadband with a cable modem (Thompson? Which model?) supplied by NTL. You also have a wireless router which appears to be ADSL. How am I doing?

Can you explain how they are physically (cable or wireless) connected together based on my interpretation of your problem because I can see a small problem combining two routers one cable and one ADSL. Not insurmountable I hope but I need to know makes and models as well.

Dords 15:28 08 Aug 05

Hello Taff36,
I have 2 PC's as described. I am not in a cabled area but receive BB thru an ADSL filter. The ADSL lead is attached to the Thomsom Speedtouch 330 (USB ADSL PPP - description in Network Conns - Dial up) Modem, connected by USB to PC.

When I tried to attach the ADSL lead direct to the 3Com Router I could not get a dial tone for internet. The router instructions recommended this method but probably only for a cabled area.

I attached the speedtouch as usual - and attached 3Com router LAN and ADSL to PC.

The WLAN gives excellent signal strenght and the WIN2000 with usb adapter shows the 3Com and belkin (someone elses) router within range. (Network Conns shows Local-Realtek RTL8139/810X & Wireless-Ralink rt2500 & 1394 net adapter.)

How do I set up network to be able to access Internet on Win2000? Thank You.

Taff36 23:05 08 Aug 05