Netgear Wireless Media Router with BT Yahoo b/band

Ed747 20:10 19 Nov 04

I am trying to set up a wirless network using BT Yahoo 1Mb Broadband and NETGEAR 108Mbps Wireless Media Router WBT634U but, am basically getting absolutely nowhere, I am relatively new to this WiFi set up and nothing is going like it says in the brochure.

Grrrrr Please help me Spiderman!!!!!!!!!

Ed

Rioja 21:32 19 Nov 04

Ed747,

You really need to give us more info on your setup.
The first question has to be what adsl modem are you trying to connect with. Note that this router does not have a modem built in and you cannot use the usb modem supplied by BT Yahoo.

Assuming you are using a seperate ethernet connected adsl modem to terminate the adsl/broadband signal then have a look through this previous thread.
click here

Regards,

Rioja

Ed747 23:00 19 Nov 04

I am using the BT Voyager 205 DSL Router which came with my Broadband package using the ethernet port to the NETGEAR Router which then connects to the ethernet port on my PC.

Are you saying I need additional hardware?

Rioja 23:51 19 Nov 04

Ed747,

From what I can find out on the Voyager 205 it should work ok.
Have you read through the thread I posted? You can also refer to this thread click here which is a similar problem.

You haven't said what your problem actually is.
Can you connect to the internet with just the Voyager in place?
If so, when you add the Netgear into the circuit can you then connect with a pc either wired or wirelessly?

It's always best to get these systems working in a wired configuration first and then transfer to wireless working.

Regards,

Rioja

Ed747 14:18 20 Nov 04

Thanks for everything so far.

I'm fine with just my BT Voyager connection but, when I introduce the NETGEAR Router into the equation, via ethernet cable, my PC is no longer able to make a connection to the internet.