Netgear WGT624 v3 Set-up

KenjieZzz 12:09 01 Apr 08

Hi,
I am new to networking because we only had 1 computer until now.
I bought a laptop so I decided to upgrade our cable modem and bought a wireless router.

ISP: CABLE Virgin Media
Router: Netgear WGT624 v3

I do not know where to begin.

The instruction provided with the router is not straightforward and a bit confusing.

can somebody give me a simple and easy step-by-step guide how to set it up?
? I really need some help.

What I need is to connect my PC (wired) and my Laptop (wireless)

Thanks.

Ashrich 20:36 01 Apr 08

Ok , here we go ...power down the modem for 10 minutes , connect the ethernet cable from the modem to the WAN port on the router , and an ethernet cable from port one on the router to the PC . Power up the modem and leave to settle , then power to the router and leave to settle again , then finally power up the PC . Open a browser and type in to the address bar ..192.168.0.1 and press enter . The password and admin words should be be either " password and admin " or " admin and admin " From here the router should be able to pick up your internet connection , go to the wireless section and set yourself up some wireless security ( preferably WPA ) and save all changes . Exit the router pages , boot laptop and try connecting using the WPA code you previously set .

Ashley

KenjieZzz 07:40 02 Apr 08

Thank you, Ashley. It's all up and running now. When I went to the browser, It didn't asked me to logged in, it ran a wizard automatically.

But I think there's one more problem. =[

the internet connection my PC is fine(wired) but the connection on my laptop is too slow. the download rate only reach up to 30kbps.

do you have any advice?

My laptop's wireless is Intel Pro which is a/b/g

my router is as shown above, Super G.

thanks.

Ashrich 20:11 02 Apr 08