Netgear DG834G setup problem

steved 00:58 20 Aug 05

I've got two winXP PCs with ethernet connections to a new DG834G which has a broadband connection. The PCs can see each other, and the 'network connections' screen shows 'local area connection' and 'internet gateway' as being connected and working. All lights on router are green. I'm not using wireless (yet).

But... I can't run the setup wizard or log in manually to the DG834G - I get a request to connect to the internet (via my old dial-up session), a pause while it tries to connect to click here, then a timeout message saying that the server is unreachable. I can successfully ping click here (as well as external sites) but I can't get to the setup wizard to enter the admin/password combination. I have a McAfee firewall but disabling it makes no difference.

Sorry if this has been answered before but I am new to the 'delights' of ADSL routers and indeed networks in general! Basically - help!!

Forum Editor 09:03 20 Aug 05

The url you typed in your post produces the Netgear setup login prompt for me - are you saying that you aren't being prompted when you type it into your browser?

If that's the case, it's the first time I've come across the problem, and I must have set up dozens of these routers.

Disconnect the other computer, remove your old dial up connection settings, and try again.

steved 11:26 20 Aug 05

That's right - dosn't matter if I run the setup from the cd or type it in manually, I don't get prompted for the setup. Have removed other PC and deleted old dialup settings, still dosn't prompt me but instead goes straight to 'page cannot be displayed' without thinking about it first...

easyrider 13:53 20 Aug 05

I think you have to go back to the start reset the router to factory defaults.Then start from the beginning I had similar problems a few years back trying to set up a netgear dg832m,and it turned out that I missed one little simple step when reading the instuctions.

FUl2tiV3 14:33 20 Aug 05