Netbook Protection Software - advice needed

nicky25 13:29 PM 19 Apr 11

Hi there,

I have a new netbook and am keen to get the best protection on it I can, but as i am on a very limited budget - I'm a student - I wondered if anyone can recommend the best free downloads to help prevent all the 'nasties'. I'm not entirely computer literate so don't know what all the programmes I should have are. Antivirus, firewall, anti spyware/malware....any others? Suggestions of which free downloads are best, and what exactly I need to get would be much appreciated! :) Nicola

onthelimit1 13:57 PM 19 Apr 11

Anti virus - I'd go for Microsoft Security Essentials. It's a free download and doesn't hog the netbook's resources. Add to that Superantispyware. Again, a free version is available. Then for a scan every once in a while Malwarebytes - free!

dms_05 14:05 PM 19 Apr 11

Agree with MSE (Microsoft Security Essentials) but I'd use it as your only on-line security software. Then use Malwarebytes occasionally to scan your netbook. That's what I do - MSE has never missed anything but it's better to be sure.

woodchip 15:55 PM 19 Apr 11

You Best Protection While its New is Create a Acronis Image to a USB Drive, it will take a long time as they are slow CPU's it took several Hours on my Samsung nc10 netbook, But I know its the best insurance you can have for a PC

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 16:04 PM 19 Apr 11

Windows own firewall MSE MAlwarebytes and or SyuperAntispyware

All free

And some common sense about where and how you browse the web. :0)

nicky25 10:48 AM 21 Apr 11

Thank you everyone, downloaded suggested software. What is an acronis image and how do I go about doing that? Sorry, again, I am not very computer literate I am afriad!

Thanks again! Nicola

woodchip 11:49 AM 21 Apr 11