Nero & Widows Video capture freeze

rewired 22:46 05 Jul 05

Hello again,
I wonder if anybody can help with this problem? I am just starting out on the dvd webcam recording trail. I have recorded a 60 min tape and am trying to transfer the contents to my computer. (HP 2.66Ghz/ 80 Gig HD/1024 ddr ram/via my Canon MV20i camera and 1394 firewire.)
Every thing starts up fine with full recognition but I get just 5kb recorded and every thing stops .The same effect occurs with a USB connection.
There is just one frame recorded on the preview screen of Nero with a mosaic effect showing. No frame at all with the windows setup.
Any ideas ?
Thanks

rawprawn 16:19 24 Jul 05

Did you ever find a solution, I have exactly the same problem.

rewired 22:31 24 Jul 05

Thanks for your enquiry ,no, I am still at a loss.
Managed to juggle a couple of input instructions to enable full transfer but the results are rubbish,you can just about make out the subject etc. but not really viewable. Canons site is useless, 5 year old products are ignored

The thing is that it will end up as something simple,ifonly somebody who knows what they are doing would view this thread. Oh well,please let me know if you suceed and I promise to the same,cheers.

De Marcus™ 22:40 24 Jul 05

By "No frame at all with the windows setup" do you mean windows movie maker gives basically the same symptoms?

Also have you tried any other capture software?

OS?

Does the camera give normal playback? I.e. when it's plugged in and fully recognised does the camera allow you view, forward, pause, stop, etc before you start capture?

I don't know the answer but this may be helpful to myself and others

rawprawn 09:11 25 Jul 05