Need a new PSU but I aint got a clue!

Klappers 21:04 06 Dec 05

Hi, recently i've been thinking about upgrading my graphics card. I've been looking at the geforce 6600 256mb to replace my fx5200. Now i thought this was going to be easy, just a case of swapping the cards. But, today i discovered that the card i want requires a 400W or more PSU. Currently i only have a 300w PSU. My question for anyone that might be able to help, is how will i choose the right psu? I mean can i just buy any one i want or will certain ones only fit certain machines. And secondly , is it hard to install a new psu or can a complete novice do it? Thanks in advance for any help.

wallbash 21:20 06 Dec 05

Yes and yes

With a bit of care , the swopping of a PSU is simple.
All connections 'should' only fit one way , you also have the advantage of seeing the orig one in place before you start!

Buying the right one??? being a cheapskate, price comes top of my list, but if i had the money would consider one that called itself quite.

wallbash 21:23 06 Dec 05

Sorry should have added , check that wot you have is an ATX ( will be on label on orig psu )
then google ,

Tycho 21:24 06 Dec 05

I would be careful about the amout of noise that a PSU can generate. I bouhg one from a local shop in an emergency. After a few months I could not stnd the racket any more and bough a new one which was much quieter. It was a Nexus IIRC. Have a quick Google for quiet PSU's before you decide which one. They are more expensive but for me they are worth it.

T

xania 21:24 06 Dec 05

I think you mean <Quiet>, Wallbash, and frankly, they're still pretty cheap. Pop along to a computer fair and you'll be amazed.

Klappers 21:31 06 Dec 05

Thanks for the replies, this is a very helpful forum!

Mr Mistoffelees 21:42 06 Dec 05