Need networking help please.

networknerd 23:50 08 Jun 05

Hi,

I'm totally new to networking so require some help. I'd like to network my pc to my laptop but I haven't got a clue how to do it, what to use etc. Could someone advise?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Strawballs 00:38 09 Jun 05

Do you have a broad band connection and if so do you want to do it wireless or do you mind having wires between them

networknerd 00:59 09 Jun 05

Hi,

Yes I do have a broadband connection. It's connected to the pc through ethernet cable. I dont mind either wireless or the wires, although because the machines will be quite close, wireless might be better I suppose?

De Marcus 21:08 09 Jun 05

If your'e going wireless you need a wireless router, a wireless pcmcia card for the laptop and a wireless pci or usb dongle for the desktop. You can get some good deals on packages which will include all this if you shop around. After that (assuming your'e using XP) you run the windows wireless network setup wizard.

If you do go wireless try your best to make sure the components are all from the same manufacturer as if they're not, you might run into configuration problems.

networknerd 09:55 10 Jun 05

Hi, thanks for the advice.

I presume I can get all the things I need from somewhere like PC World?

"a wireless pcmcia card for the laptop"

Ok, how do I connect that to the laptop?

"After that (assuming your'e using XP) you run the windows wireless network setup wizard."

I'm using ME on the pc and Windows 2000 on the laptop, can I still run the windows network setup wizard or do I have to do something else?

Dipso 23:02 10 Jun 05

Do you have cable or ADSL broadband as the choice of routers can vary.