need to move system stuff to one HDD

awest3 14:46 16 Jun 08

I seem to have got myself into a fix. The rather small 20gb HDD on my daughters PC was making a noise so I installed a new disk..320gb. All went well and I copied all My docs, program files etc onto the new drive. She uses the new E drive for all data and most of the system stuff. The old drive is still up and running, still noisey so I want to get everything onto the new drive and make it the only drive.. Silly of me I know, I've been playing with computers for 30 years..mainly mainframe admittedly, I tried to copy all the system files from the old "C" drive to the new one but it had errors so this is not the way to do it...can someone help me please..I've an idea that I have to a) copy all the data off the e drive to an external drive (too much for old "c" drive), b) take an acronis backup of the "c" drive c) restore the "c" backup to the "e" drive, d) restore the data from the external copy back the "e" drive.

This seems fraught with danger....is there an easier way to do it...? am I missing anything..?

Thanks in anticipation.

Al

brundle 15:24 16 Jun 08

You might want to try this to image the drive. click here

There's a free version too but the giveaway is for the $30 `full version`. Ensure it won't overwrite existing partitions when writing a small image back to a larger drive though, as some drive imaging software does.

jimv7 15:30 16 Jun 08

Go to the 320gb manufacturers site, they all have tools to download that will copy the old drive to the new.

Diemmess 15:52 16 Jun 08

Acronis is not free but worth buying to have a sure way to make clone type Backups of a whole drive at a time and Restore them when for whatever reason the original drive fails.

In your case the tricky bit is where temporarily to save the clone of drive c:?

The ideal place would be on another HD altogether, or failing that it is possible to keep the Acronis backup file on one or more DVDs.