My website & FrontPage

I know how to build toy castles coz I've being doing it for years in my shed ( {;o) )... but when I decided I ought to try a website on which to show them I thought - YOWSER - here's a challenge!

I bought a domain and hosted it with easily.co.uk last year.

I've had MS-OFFICE 2000 for a couple of years, (wearing a groove in the WORD segment but little else) !! Anyway, I thought I'd give the FrontPage program a shot.

I bought a book 'FP Step by Step' and waded in.

I've completed the site now, except for the actual toy castle photos, and will fill in the gaps in a month or two.

I realise that I'm a complete novice when it comes to web design, and that there are people out there who can add all the bells, whistles and gizmos to make a site really sit up and breathe, but I just want a presence on the web, and not the flashiest site in the UK.

I would have liked to have the 'order form' available in a nicer format, but I found it simpler to use a text file.

Anyway, please take a look ( allowing for the fact that there are no models to be seen yet ) and let me know what you think.

The URL is : click here

Thanks, Crossbow

Forum Editor 20:02 29 May 03

I can see you have put in a lot of hard work, and what a fascinating subject!

You have one of the key ingredients of a successful web site straight away - an interesting subject.

You might consider the following suggestions; they are just that - suggestions - so please don't be in any way discouraged, you've made a nice job of your first site.

1. Kill the hit counter? I have a personal aversion to them I admit. I can't see what useful purpose they serve. You can get statistics from your host, and they'll be far more detailed than just a tally of hits. Nothing brands a site as "amateur" more than a hit counter.

2. Use a smaller font size for body text - say 8 point - in conjunction with the next point.....