My problem - HELP!

spgoldy 21:15 24 Feb 08

Hi all,

Sorry if I have interrupted somebody elses thread - but I am really at my wits end!!

I have a speedtouch 585 wireless router and have set my laptop (vista) to connect - no problems.

I want to connect my desktop (XP) to the network. I have a speedtouch 121g which I connect to my desktop via usb.

I have run the AOL setup from the disc and all works well, the drivers etc are installed and all works fine.

Then..... If I shut down my PC or re-start it, the desktop tells me that no adapter is connected and that no network is available, although I know the adapter is working. I've used the windows troubleshooter and this tells me the adapter is ok.

AOL have been worse than useless and I tried to contact speedtouch but it's no good.

Does anybody have any ideas?? I'm a beginner really and just want to get up and running but cannot see the problem.

Any help would be really appreciated!

Best wishes.

Simon.

Ashrich 21:38 24 Feb 08

Are you using the software supplied with the Speedtouch adapter ? Does it have an " always on " setting to connect automatically when the PC is booted ? Have you tried letting Windows XP manage the connection instead ?

Ashley

Ashrich 22:02 24 Feb 08