My own domain name for email?

Newuser3068 09:52 12 Nov 03

Can anyone tell me if there's an ISP who will let me use my own domain name for my email address, as well as giving me fixed price unlimited dial-up access?
Assuming my name is Bill Bloggs, I want to have my email sent to "[email protected]", without the ISP's name being mentioned. Preferably I would also like to rent the domain name as part of the package.
Could you please explain how I can do this?
Many thanks.

Pesala 09:56 12 Nov 03

Try these people:

click here;jsessionid=4B7E5E8524FBFDB404AD0D634F9BE768.TC31a?__page=domain&ac=OM.UK.UK274K01172T1002a

Heckmotor 10:28 12 Nov 03

Newuser3068, I'm no techie, as anyone can see from my postings, but you can probably use Pop3 email addresses without changing your ISP, once you've bought your domain name, unless you're using AOL. We have to come out of AOL and send via Freeserve 'pay-as-you-go', because AOL's intrusive protocols make it impossible.

I'm looking for an alternative 'catch-all' service right now. (See this morning's ISDN ISP posting.)

Newuser3068 10:37 12 Nov 03

Pesala
Thanks for your suggestion, but 1&1 are not an ISP, so they can't offer me a dial-up account. They say that I can use their Domain Mail service via any ISP but I simply don't understand how this works. How do I "hide" my freeserve email address behind my 1&1 domain so as to be able to have my own domain as my email address?

pj123 11:19 12 Nov 03

If you email me using the envelope you will see that it is myname@ mydomain .co. uk (spaces used to stop it being a Click Here) To do it you need to buy a domain name and then you need a hosting service who will divert any emails to your domain name to any ISP that you are using. I am on NTL Broadband but my Host has diverted all emails from my domain name to NTL for me. I could quite easily get my Host to divert to my AOL account. I just ring them and tell them to divert to anyone.

Pesala 11:57 12 Nov 03