Multifunctions with faithful colour, & film scan?

polymath 21:44 21 Apr 08

My old Epson scanner's kicked the bucket. My equally veteran (9 years) printer (HP Deskjet 970cxi) is still doing a good job, but the multifunction devices that now dominate the market have modern features I'd like.

I've found some specifications & reviews on the web, have eliminated some models and found a few to get more details of; but it's a slow business, as I'm on dialup till I get connected to the new local wireless BB! So this seemed a good place to ask.

I'm a keen photo amateur. An artist also, and like being able to scan my watercolours (the A4 & smaller ones, at least) I'm very good at colour matching, so a scanner/printer that isn't would be very frustrating! The 1200*2400 resolution of the old scanner still met my needs (without crashing my old computer too much!), but my new computer could handle higher ones.
I also want to scan transparencies; not just 35mm, but also if possible the older, larger size negatives ( I'm currently the family's history researcher). Either built-in or optional extra would be fine. Or, if a separate, dedicated film scanner exists that would do this with highish quality (but not at a professional's price!), I could possibly stretch to that as well as an MFD.
Those are my must-haves.

These bonuses would also be great;

Networkable wirelessly.
Reading a range of camera card types (ideally including SD/MMC, though I don't know how standard those are - I'm new to digital cameras).
Vista-compatible (with or without having to download a driver).
Quietness (open-plan home!).
Bundled (or easily got) software; OCR, Pictbridge (other bundled stuff probably irrelevant).
Low running costs.

Things that don't matter;
Size of unit.
Speed, if the image quality's there. If it's not a document workhorse (I also write), I can turn to the Deskjet for that (touch wood!), and HP have a Vista driver for it.

So, does anyone know of such a beast for, say, £300 or less?