multi region

Annew 07:12 01 Jul 04

Can someone please help me.
I have some home videos that I would like to convert to dvd and send to family in the states. Does a multi region DVD recorder record dvds that can be played in the USA? Can anyone recommend a dvd recorder or tell me how I can do it any other way.

Please keep it simple as I am a newbie to all this.

€dstowe 08:16 01 Jul 04

Regions are an extra on commercial DVDs. A home video or DVD will not have region settings.

Note also that there shouldn't be a problem with the TV system either (PAL -> NTSC). The conversion is done in the machine that is used for playback.

€dstowe 08:18 01 Jul 04

Sorry, missed a bit. Are you looking for a stand-alone DVD recorder or a DVD writer for use in a computer?

Annew 08:32 01 Jul 04

A stand alone. So I would not need a multi region recorder?
I read from other threads that it is the easiest way to transfer to dvd.

€dstowe 08:57 01 Jul 04

The regions are only to do with commercial DVDs and are a form of copy protection to prevent use in countries where they are not authorised. It has nothing to do with the technical side of making or playing DVDs except insofar that a disc with a region setting will not play on a machine set to the wrong region.

As you are making your own discs, you can forget all about regions.

Regarding machines, have a look at click here

My father has just bought a click here and seems quite happy with it. There are, of course cheaper models.

€d

SirGalahad2004 10:44 01 Jul 04

IF YOU COPY YOUR OWN MOVIES THERE WONT BE ANY REGION PROTECTION ON IT ... THAT ONLY COMES WITH COMMERCIALY BOUGHT DVDS

Lozzy 10:57 01 Jul 04

If you burn your own Video's onto DVD to send to the states makes sure the format is avi, mpeg, etc and it will on any DVD player world wide. It does work as I am in the states at the mo and I have done the same thing.

€dstowe 11:02 01 Jul 04