M/Soft Vista

Ankermi31 15:39 07 Jul 08

My dad (aged 88) has announced he is "going surfing" after picking myself up he then told me he had got a laptop.

Anyone know of a book on how to use Vista (needs one with plenty of illustrations in it) and not a title with Senior or Idiot as he would be offended

I have looked for one but am completely lost what to go for.

Many thanks in advance

Forum Editor 16:43 07 Jul 08

your father might find it a lot easier if you gave him a few introductory lessons and left him to get on with it.

In the past I have worked with a client who got his first computer (Top of the range Sony Vaio)when he was in his late eighties, and it was a bit of an uphill battle for us both.

Has your father any previous computing experience, or is he a complete novice? If he's completely new to computing he'll need some help with concepts to start with, rather than diving straight into Vista. Most elderly people have little idea about computers, and when they first get their hands on one they are completely at sea - they don't understand what the internet is, or what it can do for them. I suggest that before your father tries to do anything you talk to him about what the internet is, and explain the underlying principles of email and web surfing. Then you can talk to him about an operating system, and explain that it is the ocean on which all other software floats. Lots of people have considerable difficulty with this concept, and it's important for your father to understand - you'll do a better job than a book, I think.

User-1229748 16:58 07 Jul 08

i agree with the fe,i was given a computer by a family member and i was messing around with it for about 9 months before i took the plunge and went online.show him some basics and let him get to grips with it before you frighten him with all the internet security stuff.hope he has many years surfing before he decides to take things easy :-)