MS Virtual Server vs MS Virtual PC

Bevan Ashford 15:21 13 Apr 08

Please help me.

I am seeking to set up a Virtual Network to help me study for my MCSA examinations.

I have 120 day versions of both Windows Server 2003 and Windows XP Professional.

Is it possible to create a Virtual network as a test lab on a PC running Windows Ultimate.

Is it possible to install Windows XP Professional on a virtual machine using MS Virtual PC and then install MS Virtual Server on that virtual machine running XP Professional?

If my questions do not make sense, please suggest any way I can set up two virtual PCs and create a virtual network running the above 120 day OSs so I could study successfully.

Thank you.

Bevan Ashford 09:19 14 Apr 08

Can anyone help please?

Gordon999 11:22 14 Apr 08

Hi Bevan,

I believe that you can as it acts like a physical PC and on boot up will given the option of which OS to load.

As like you I am studying for my MCSE including A+ and S+ and my a personal point of view isbuild a physical network at home if you can?

You can get cheap PC's that will do the job on ebay for around £30 all you need to do is buy the monitor, keyboard and mouse. Get a 4 port ethernet hub or switch and the necessary cables and you're off.

I just find it easier then that way you are getting real hands on experience.

Bevan Ashford 17:51 14 Apr 08

Hi Gordon,

Thank you for your reply.

Extremely helpful, especially the point about cheap PCs off ebay. I will look into the physical network side of things, as you say it is better practical experience.

I actually have an old PC that I could put to use, but was looking at the virtual PC side as I was concerned about viruses getting on to such an old non-updated XP Home machine.

Gordon999 13:29 15 Apr 08

Hi Bevan,