//some 3rd party need geo

MS Publisher 2003 won't publish to web

new2it 04:00 29 Dec 05

I created a web site in MS Publisher 2000 without much incident. (I'm new to this.) I "upgraded" to MS Publisher 2003 and in doing so, altered the web site. Therefore, I created an all new site, but now I can't publish it to the web! I keep getting a message explaining that the folder I'm trying to save my web site to is already used for that purpose. I have no idea what that means and I also tried the help menu by trying an FTP, I think was the term used. Can someone please help me. Thank you.

Forum Editor 09:56 29 Dec 05

is not really that good when it comes to web sites, and to be honest I sometimes wish that Microsoft would remove its web-publishing capabilities.

It sounds to me as if Publisher is trying to prevent what it thinks is your attempt to overwrite a previously-published site - the one you published from an earlier version of Publisher. The best way to do this is certainly via an FTP session, which is simply an easy way to access the server and delete (or add) files and folders. If you're new to the wonderful world of web-publishing this process can seem a little daunting. I will gladly provide you with further information about how to set about the job - you'll need some additional software - if you would like to have a go, but if you simply want to get the show on the road there may be a shorter route.......

use the little envelope next to my name, and send me an email with details of your server login. I'll access your server space, and remove the previous site - then you can go ahead and publish the new one. I'll need the FTP server address that was supplied to you by your internet service provider as well. If you're not sure about that, give me your ISP's name and I'll get the information from their web site.

Forum Editor 23:38 29 Dec 05

I have tidied up your server space now, and you might see if you can publish the new version of your site.