MS Office sounds problem

Nosmas 15:04 08 Jul 10

My system is Windows 7 (which I have been using for about five months), IE8 and MS Office 2000.

I am absolutely sure that when closing a Word or Excel file that had been changed, I received a message asking if I wanted to save the changes made to the document, and this was accompanied with a 'sound'. Just recently I became aware that a sound no longer played when the message was displayed, although other audio features and music appeared to be quite normal.

Googling the problem produced references to checking the box 'Provide feedback with sound'. Clicking on Tools > Options > General tab the box 'Provide feedback with sound' was already checked. When I unchecked the box, closed the document, re-opened the document and re-checked the box I received a message that Sounds.exe was not installed on my PC, with directions on how to download the file. I duly downloaded and installed Sounds.exe from click here, but still no sound plays when closing a file that has been changed. However I now get a 'clicking' sound played if I move from one Excel worksheet to another. Also I get a musical sound when opening an Excel workbook.

Just in case my memory is playing tricks, can anyone please confirm whether they get a sound when closing a changed document, and if so, what setting do I need to change to accomplish this?

Woolwell 15:44 08 Jul 10

Using Vista and Office 2007 I get the windows exclamation sound. Check you system sounds through control panel and that windows exclamation is working.

Nosmas 20:43 11 Jul 10

Many thanks for your reply Woolwell. I have done as you suggested and checked via control panel that the sounds are working. The windows exclamation sound is the one that I am sure I used to get with the message when closing a document that had been changed. This no longer happens, but now that I have installed Sounds.exe I am getting a sound with many events that did not previously cause a sound to be played.